A beautiful lesson

By Yanina Bellini Saibene

March 17, 2023

I have been doing a lot of work designing courses and lessons over the last few years.

I’m quite proud of some of them because I was able to design, use and refine them - and my students have enjoyed them and learned from them.

I leave my openly licensed materials available for reuse and have wondered how best to share the lesson details.

In a lesson, we have learning objectives and supporting material (such as slides, videos, shared documents, and pre-readings). There is a script to follow (what to present, how to present it, and what activities go after each part of the lesson). In an active lesson, part of the script depends on your students. How do you describe those alternative paths, and how describe what to do if you didn’t previously think of that alternative path?

I usually create a website where I present all that material. Sometimes, I describe in more detail what I say, ask, or point to. Sometimes that description is on the slide deck. Other times is on the webpage. I don’t usually add instructor notes to the webpage, but maybe I should.

I tried to share a lesson before, explaining the tools I use for design, what the tools and strategies I choose look like, and how I use them. I also shared the material. But I am not satisfied with the result.

So this is my new attempt. In this case, I’m not explaining why I use those resources. I’m not explaining based on what pedagogical concept or researcher I base my design decision on. Should I add this information? How and where?

Please, let me know what you think.

Posted on:
March 17, 2023
Length:
2 minute read, 279 words
Tags:
English Education Community
See Also:
Octavo Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones
Septimo Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones
Sexto Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones