Bring Your Own Data week for TidyTuesday

By Yanina Bellini Saibene in 100DaysToOffload English

January 6, 2024

It’s Bring Your Own Data week for #TidyTuesday, and I decided to analyze my records of events.

I have the habit of recording everything because of my academic jobs. I continue to write down the events I participate in and some interesting information about them. For this exercise, in addition to updating the data with what I did during 2023, I have been cleaning up the data, completing the information, and removing duplicates.

My dataset is a CVS file and has 11 variables. Today we are going to visualize four of them: when the events happened, what format they have (online, in person or hybrid), what role I have (like speaker or organizer) and whay kind of event was (like conference or course).

Plan the visualization

I summarize all the number that I need in differents tibbles and then decide to create a combined plot with:

  • the donuts plot that David Schoch use in the GitHub Wrapped project to show general numbers.

  • a line plot to show number of events over time.

  • a ranked bar plot to show number of events by type and role.

Here is the code:

Donuts for Total Numbers

David’s repo have the code of the function donut_plot.

  • The total number of events is 423
  • The total number of online events is 213 (4 Hybrid and 206 In person).
  • The total number of years with records is 29 and I’m 46 years old.
p2 <- donut_plot(423, 423, "orange", "black") + labs(title = "Total Events")
p4 <- donut_plot(213, 423, "lightblue2", "black") + labs(title = "Online Events")
p5 <- donut_plot(29, 46, "#216E39", "black") + labs(title = "Active Years")

This give as result these plots:

3 donuts with big number in the center showing 423 events, 213 online events and 29 years of data. The online events have half the donut painted with lighblue and the years of data have 3/4 of the donut painted with green.

Number of events by year

To show the number of events by year I choose a line plot:

p1 <- totales_year |>
  ggplot(aes(x=anio, y=numero)) +
  geom_line(color = "blue", size=2) +
  labs(title = "Total Events by Year",
       y = "",
       x = "") +
  scale_x_continuous(breaks = c(1993, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2013,2018, 2023)) +
  theme_minimal() 
  

I got this outcome:

Line starting in 1993 and finishing in 2023. There is a pick in 2020, 2021 and 2022.

Types of events and roles

Then I plot the bar plots for the type of events and the roles I have in each event. I like ranked plots because helps to visualize the most important categories.

p0 <- totales_rol |>
  ggplot(aes(x=fct_reorder(Rol, numero), y= numero)) +
  geom_col(fill = "#0072B2") +
  coord_flip() +
  labs(title = "Total Events by Role",
       y = "",
       x = "") +
  theme_minimal()

p6 <- totales_tipo |>
  ggplot(aes(x=fct_reorder(Tipo, numero), y= numero)) +
  geom_col(fill = "#56B4E9") +
  coord_flip() +
  labs(title = "Total Events by Type",
       y = "",
       x = "") +
  theme_minimal()

I got this two ranked bar plots with my data by role and by type of events:

One bar plot next to the other. The first one shows 5 roles, being Speaker the most important, followed by teacher.  In the second bar plot there are 13 categories, being Course the most important.  The following are different kind of talks followed by conferences, panels, exibitions, podcast, among others types.

Combined plot

Finally, I want to show all of this data together, so I use the package patchwork to create a combined plot with all the preview elements. The code order each of the other plots in the patchwork: first line is all the donuts plots next to each other (p2, p4 y p5), bellow is the line plot (p1), and below it the two bar plot (p0, p6) one next to the other.


(p2 | p4 | p5) / (p1 / (p0 | p6))

This is the final plot:

Donuts plot on the first row, below the donuts the line plot and in thelast row the two bar plots.

I can improve the annotations for the patchwork, and the disposition of the bar plots, but I kind of like the final output. :-)

Posted on:
January 6, 2024
Length:
3 minute read, 558 words
Categories:
100DaysToOffload English
Tags:
English 100DaysToOffload rstats TidyTuesday
See Also:
Octavo Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones
Septimo Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones
Sexto Encuentro. Aprendiendo a Programar en 30 lecciones