Day 17: 2 Software Tools I Can’t Live Without For Creating Content in English

By Yanina Bellini Saibene in Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30

May 22, 2024

Icon for translations. A letter G in a blue backgraund and a chinese letter in a grey background

Foto de Rubaitul Azad en Unsplash

I have been writing in English for 16 Days non-stop. Yay!

Today I want to share two apps I can’t live without when it comes to writing content in English:

DeepL and Grammarly

And here’s why:

  • It is usually easier for me to write in my native language (Spanish) and then translate to English. DeepL gives the best results in translations.

  • DeepL allows me to choose between several options according to the context and also has a dictionary available when I select a word given several options, their definition, synonyms, and antonyms.

  • After the translations, Grammarly helps with grammar and punctuation, as well as the clarity and tone of the text.

  • If I write the text in English from scratch, Grammarly also checks my writing and not only corrects grammar and punctuation but also gives suggestions to clarify or simplify the text.

  • Both have free options. I use the free version of DeepL and the paid version of Grammarly.

If you want to improve your writing, understand why to change a text, and learn new words and expressions, I can’t recommend using these apps enough.

Posted on:
May 22, 2024
Length:
1 minute read, 191 words
Categories:
Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30
Tags:
Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30
See Also:
Two years and twelve projects as Community Manager at rOpenSci
Dos años y doce proyectos en rOpenSci como Community Manager
Day 30. 3 Things I Learned Writing Online Every Day For 30 Days In A Row.