Day 30. 3 Things I Learned Writing Online Every Day For 30 Days In A Row.

By Yanina Bellini Saibene in Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30

June 4, 2024

The right hand of a person writing in a paper

Foto de Unseen Studio en Unsplash

30 days ago, I signed up for the self-paced cohort-based course Ship 30 for 30.

During that time, I wrote and published 30 blog posts (13000 words) about evidence-based teaching practices, focusing on computational skills.

I learned the fundamentals of Digital Writing, got to know other writers worldwide, and learned about various topics related to what people write.

It has been a very rewarding (and challenging) journey, proving that I can write daily in a language other than my native tongue. I am more excited than ever to keep writing online.

Here are the 3 biggest things writing & publishing consistently every day for 30 days taught me:

1. Consistency.

Once again, this was a good example of the greatest progress achieved by being consistent.

I want to update Greg Wilson’s book  Teaching Tech Together. My main goal for joining this course was to use it to make progress on the content. I did it with some of the topics, but I still have a lot of work to do.

2. Order and accountability.

The first two tips of the course are: select one hour of each day that you will dedicate exclusively to writing and publish what you have written each day.

It worked very well for me. I chose a time of day when I was alone at home, out of my normal work schedule, so no distractions.

Posting on social media and my website was my way of being accountable for posting every day, even when I found writing difficult.

3. There are many topics I can write about

During the lessons, we are introduced to different frameworks to think about topics to write.

Considering the topics other people often ask me about, I think I have content that may be interesting to share.

I plan to continue working on T3 for now, but I have a good library of content that I can develop further.

If you have been thinking about getting started writing online too, let me know. I’m happy to share more about the experience and what I learned.

Posted on:
June 4, 2024
Length:
2 minute read, 351 words
Categories:
Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30
Tags:
Education Community 100DaysToOffload 30Ship30
See Also:
Two years and twelve projects as Community Manager at rOpenSci
Dos años y doce proyectos en rOpenSci como Community Manager
Amplificando voces: minorías en la frontera de la IA en la comunidad R